Four of Queensland’s have voted to de-amalgamate after the question of splitting Noosa, Livingstone, Mareeba and Douglas went to the polls on Sunday.

State Local Government Minister, David Crisafilli, promised he would begin work on establishing four new councils.

“Residents in the four areas have chosen to put their money where their hearts are to get their council back,” Mr Crisafulli said.

“We will now begin work on the transition process of establishing four new councils that will be able to deliver the services that ratepayers expect.

“Each council will need to meet all of the costs of de-amalgamation, including the costs of the remaining council, and provide the same level of services residents are getting now.”

Mr Crisafulli said he would appoint a transition manager for each of the four areas next month who will work with the current regional council to work out the mechanics of de-amalgamation.

Elections for new mayors and councillors will take place in the last quarter of 2013 with the four new councils to officially start work on 1 January, 2014.